Testimonials

Company

Testimonials

Home > Company > Testimonials

Testimonials

Here you can find testimonials about the personal work experience of our employees.

  • Chee Kin – Senior Consultant, "Stay curious, studious and flexible."

    I'm at CBC since:
    May 2016

    My background is:
    Master of Science in Applied Physics and I have worked as a Mechanical Designer and Robotics Product Manager before joining Continental as a consultant. 

    Currently my focus area is:
    Currently, my focus area is in Agile development & implementation methodology such as Kanban and Scrum.

    What three things do you need to be successful as a consultant?
    Stay curious, studious (always learning), and flexible (fast adaptation).

    What past experiences helped prepare you for this position?
    ​My past experience as a design engineer has equipped me with a deep understanding of the role, workflow, and challenges as a developer in the product development cycle. This experience has prepared me with a strong background in delivering Agile development for R&D improvement across multiple locations & BUs within Continental. 

    How do you unwind after a long day at work?
    Taking a sip of my favourite latte in a quiet cozy café along the alley while watching the barista prepare the next cup of syphon coffee.

    What motivates you?
    Learning from of every life incident and mishap and understanding that every foot step along the path brings me forward as a better person.
  • Gabriel – Associate, "Consulting [...] enables me to work with different challenges daily."

    I'm at CBC since:
    April 2017

    My background is:
    Graduated with BBA from National University of Singapore(NUS) Business School.

    Internship Experience:
    Banking: Anti-Money Laundering, Know-Your-Client Compliance, Toronto Dominion Securities (TD Bank) Singapore
    HR: NUS i-Gen Programme, Employer Branding Intern, HR Continental Automotive Singapore.

    Currently my focus area is:
    Agile Methodology (Kanban, Scrum & Continuous Integration) with interest in ASPICE topics.

    What skills, abilities, and personal attributes are essential to success in your job/this field?​
    The ability to think quick on your feet, having a strong sense of adaptability to new challenges and environment, and lastly, having the drive to improve and do better each time always pushes me to provide better services to our clients!

    How did you become interested in this field?​
    Consulting has always been a career choice for me. It enables me to work with different challenges daily and pushes my boundaries in understanding new concepts and methodologies. Having a vast amount of opportunity to work in different areas of focus allows me to adapt and use skills learned in previous projects to add value to my own career and offer my best to clients.

    If you were stranded on a deserted island, what three things would you have and why?​
    I would bring a flint, survival knife, and a guitar! The first two are for survival reasons, to make fire and cut objects. The guitar is used as a food for the soul! There's no life without music! 

    How do you unwind after a long day at work?​
    I am an active person who indulges in sports and any active activities. I personally love learning new sports and understanding the concept and tactics that embodies the sport. I enjoy cycling, running, swimming, and playing ultimate frisbee! 

    What is the wisest thing anyone has ever told you?​
    "Stay Hungry, Stay Foolish" - Steve Jobs
     
  • Gabriela – Consultant, "Developing knowledge to reach excellence."

    I'm at CBC since
    February 2015

    My background is​
    International experience as a Project Lead, extensive understanding of business processes, operational procedures and Supply Chain. Strategically applying and developing knowledge to reach excellence through team work and utilizing available resources.

    Leading trainings, identify, plan, and manage initiatives to improve operational efficiencies by organizing and coordinating project activities, workshops and lessons learned.

    Currently my focus area is:
    SAP Harmonization Business Process Projects.

    What is your favorite publication to stay current on industry trends?​
    I really like WOBI publications. It is not only automotive trends but all business trends. I really like it!

    What project or accomplishment do you consider to be the most significant in your career?
    I can say that being an entrepreneur has been the most challenging goal in my life as well as the most interesting. Some of my own business ideas have been successful and others a great learning tool.

    What is one thing you have always wanted to do outside of your profession, but never had the opportunity?
    I have always wanted to be an architect. I love to decorate and do remodeling of spaces.
    Studying a second career is something that I do not discard for my future and I will conclude my goal with success.

    Who has inspired you in your life and why?​
    Definitely my parents!! On one hand my father is the type of person who doesn't back up from adversity: he is always trying and even if he fails, he starts again and again and again. On the other hand, my mom always finds a way to do stuff: she is a very organized person and knows how to do "everything". Love my parents, what can I say!

    If you weren't a consultant, what would you be?
    An Architect definitely!
  • Jasmin – Consultant, "It is a great chance to work within different business areas and locations."

    I'm at CBC since:
    Februrary 2013

    My background is:
    My business career started at CBC. I graduated in the area of business administration 
    and my masters degree, which is currently ongoing, is in the field of technology and innovation management.

    Currently my focus area is:
    At CBC I am leading and supporting projects which focus on the implementation of agile development methods. Furthermore my project landscape is enriched by contributing in organizational development projects.

    What past experiences helped prepare you for this position?​
    To work in an internal consultancy requires not only knowledge and expertise but also flexibility and openness. Getting in touch with different cultures through cross-moves and several departments during my initial time at Continental helped me to see our company from different perspectives. This perception is very valuable for my position.

    How did you become interested in this field?​
    How I became interested in this field? The basic idea of an internal consultancy, to support the parent company in various areas in order to improve and stay competitive, raised my attention. It is a great chance to work within different business areas, locations, and people in order to satisfy internal customers and establish sustainable solutions throughout the company.

    How do you unwind after a long day at work?​
    My valve to relieve stress is dancing. Being attached to this kind of sport since I was little, Jazz- & Modern Dance accompanies me now for several years. The combination of group sports, music and movement helps me to clear up my mind after a long day of work.

    What are you passionate about?​
    I am passionate about travelling and experiencing different places. There are still a lot of spots to discover.
  • Jens – Senior Manager, "Striving for various perspectives as a critical thinker, mixed with emotional intelligence."

    I'm at CBC since:
    January 2015

    My background is:
    More than a decade in management positions at renowned strategy consulting companies with a distinct focus on automotive, strategy and organization. Dipl.-Wirtsch.-Ing. in Business Administration and Mechanical Engineering from Darmstadt University of Technology.

    Currently my focus area is:
    Assigned to Market, Innovation and Development (MID) with dedicated responsibility for Strategy & Organization.

    What are your success habits?
    "De omnibus dubitandum." ;-)

    What kind of education, training, or background does your job require?
    A smart mind, striving for various perspectives as a critical thinker, mixed with emotional intelligence, drive, enthusiasm and humor is key.
    The academic background is secondary but usually a combination of economics and technology is a good basis.

    What was the biggest risk you ever took?​
    Flipping a pancake on an early Sunday morning.

    Who has inspired you in your life and why?​
    There were many different personalities who inspired me. Certainly my daughters significantly contributed a lot in terms of enthusiasm and my way of leadership.

    What was the last book you read and how did it inspire you?​
    "Peter's moon ride" - when I got my kids to bed.
  • Johanna – Senior Manager, "Cross-cultural competence and people skills are essential in our field of work."

    I'm at CBC since:
    July 2012

    My background is:
    M.Sc. (tech.) in Industrial Engineering and Management

    Currently my focus area is:
    Leading an international team for business process harmonization

    What is your favorite publication to stay current on industry trends?
    Harvard Business Manager

    What qualities should every CBC consultant have in your opinion?
    Analytical skills combined with people skills. Willingness to go the extra mile.

    What skills, abilities, and personal attributes are essential to success in your job/this field?
    Cross-cultural competence and people skills are essential in our field of work as we conduct projects in all Continental locations worldwide. Curiosity and openness.

    Coffee or Tea? Early starter or late riser? Apple or Android? Beach or mountains?
    Coffee. Late riser. Apple. Mountains.

    What motivates you?
    A rewarding day full of accomplishments.

    How do you usually spend your time when travelling via train or plane?
    Reading a good book.
  • Kelle – Consultant, "My best quality is my ability to talk and connect with people."

    I'm at CBC since:
    June 2016

    My background is:
    Project Management/Organizational Management, Process Improvement

    Currently my focus area is:
    Change management

    What are your success habits?
    One of the most important success habits is taking notes. Whether it is a daily to-do list or note taking during a meeting, I take some medium of note taking into every meeting. This helps in capturing and remembering key discussion points and action items to help me stay proactive and not reactive.

    What do colleagues say is your best quality?
    I think my colleagues would say my best quality is my ability to talk to and connect with people. I've always been in customer service types roles, so being able to read people and speak to them, and not at them, makes them feel comfortable and engaged.

    What skills, abilities, and personal attributes are essential to success in your job/this field?
    Essential skills and abilities include analytic skills and the ability to multitask under pressure. Problem solving skills are utilized daily as well as being able to balance many activities and deadlines.

    Coffee or Tea? Early starter or late riser? Apple or Android? Beach or mountains?
    Tea. Early starter. Apple. Beach - even better, all at once!

    What motivates you?
    I get my motivation from my family's elders. They endured things I couldn't imagine, just so I could be where I am and live the way I live today. Their life experiences keep me grounded. I continue to pursue and achieve all opportunities so their lives were not lived in vain. 

    What is the wisest thing anyone has ever told you?
    Never be afraid to stand up for yourself or for what is right. 
  • Kristina – Associate, "Different challenges [...] always provide you new opportunities to learn, grow and develop personally."

    I'm at CBC since:
    November 2016

    My background is:
    Master's Degree in Engineering and Business Management.

    Currently my focus area is:
    Lean Management, Functional Safety & Process Management.

    What past experiences helped prepare you for this position?
    An experience that prepared me the most for my career was clearly extracurricular commitment. When I was a student I was a member of a student consultancy club and took over positions as project lead and member of the executive board. These experiences showed me what it meant to take on responsibility and what team work really meant - something that is not taught by university lessons.

    What skills, abilities, and personal attributes are essential to success in your job/this field?
    In my opinion, one of the most important attributes is analytical thinking. This ability allows you to familiarize different & unknown topics quickly which is crucial in this job. Moreover, working in a structured way as well as good communication skills, particularly as a project manager, are essential success factors to assure transparency and to be on the same page with the customer.

    What is a typical day (or week) like for you?
    If I am honest, I have never experienced a typical week at CBC. Every week is completely different along with different challenges that always provide you new opportunities to learn, grow, and develop personally. Exactly this non-routine makes the job at CBC so exiting. I can say that I've had the luck to find my dream job already at the beginning of my career.

    What motivates you?
    The most motivating impact on me is to not imagine what the negative consequence would be if you don't reach your target but what the positive consequence would be if you did so. 

    What is your favorite movie of all time?
    The Impossible - never cried like this in my life before :-D. Amazing movie based on a true story.
  • Naporn – Senior Consultant, "I am motivated by solving problems, creating new things or making improvement."

    I'm at CBC since:
    2014

    My background is:
    Engineering, Operation, Project Management and Supply Chain Management

    Currently my focus area is:
    SPIRIT Process standardization and SAP Harmonization

    What do colleagues say is your best quality?
    The key quality colleagues say about me is Leadership – It's not only about providing direction to the team (I normally try to set the guideline), but to provide clear understanding, sharing knowledge, and inspiring others to reach the highest of their abilities. As a Project Manager, my focus is setting up a strong project team and keeping the team focused on what is most important for delivering the highest priority results according to project plan.

    What skills, abilities, and personal attributes are essential to success in your job/this field?
    There are many consultants with knowledge, analytical, communication, and organization skills: what makes one better than another? I believe the way professional consultants succeed is by helping clients be successful. The three things consultants need are "Intelligence" "Creativity" and "Commitment"- not only technical intelligence but also emotional intelligence. They need to be open-mind, always believe that there is a better way to do things, and serve their clients and deliver professional solutions that make an impact.

    Coffee or Tea? Early starter or late riser? Apple or Android? Beach or mountains?
    Early Starter or late riser? I am an early bird, I set my goals and review what I've done everyday before go to bed and sometimes, I am so passionate to start my new day. 

    What motivates you?
    I am motivated by solving problems, creating new things or making improvement. I appreciate positive change and feeling satisfied when achieving goals. At home, I love fixing problems in my house and at work via solving technical challenges, resolving conflict, analyzing data, and coming up with solutions. 
  • Ute – Senior Consultant, "In-house consultants get useful insight into different business units while building a strong network."
     

    I'm at CBC since:
    March 2016

    My background is:
    I have a Master's degree in International Business Studies. My professional background is Corporate Finance, Valuation, Due Diligence (Big4) and Strategy Execution (corporate).

    Currently my focus area is:
    M&A support, project management, financial analysis and business planning

    How relevant to your work is your undergraduate major?
    Very. My major was Finance, Taxation and Accounting.

    How did you become interested in this field?
    In-house consulting combines the advantages of working for a consulting firm and of being employed in a corporation. The tasks are varied and over the course of different projects, in-house consultants get useful insight into different business units while building a strong network. At the same time, in-house consultants are considered colleagues and are able to identify with Continental and its products, something that I missed when I was working for a consulting firm.

    How did you begin your career?
    I started in Corporate Finance at a Big4 firm.

    What is a typical day (or week) like for you?
    There is no typical day really. Sometimes I am in meetings or workshops most of the day, sometimes I travel, sometimes I immerse myself in spreadsheets for hours. That is what I love about my job.

    What was the biggest risk you ever took?
    Quitting my first job and taking some time off to travel the world.

    How do you unwind after a long day at work?
    Running, exercising, being active in general, and I enjoy going to the movies.

    If you weren't a consultant, what would you be?
    A travel journalist and/or scuba diving instructor.

    How do you usually spend your time when travelling via train or plane?
    Answering emails, making calls and working on slides. I try to make use of the time I spend travelling.

Contact